Clinical Executive Committee

Cancer Trials Ireland’s Clinical Executive Committee is comprised of a mixture of elected positions and principal investigators from research units around the country. The elected positions are in place on a modality interest group basis. The medical oncology, surgical oncology, radiation, haematology and research leadership positions are each nominated by the membership of that modality group. All elected positions on the Clinical Executive Committee are for a term of three years.  

Prof Seamus O'Reilly, Clinical Leadership

Medical Oncologist in Cork University Hospital, Professor at University College Cork, co-National Director in Medical Oncology at the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland

Prof Ray McDermott, Clinical Leadership

Medical Oncologist at St Vincent’s University Hospital, Tallaght University Hospital, and the Beacon Clinic.

Prof Sinead Brennan

GROUP LEAD: St Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network (SLRON), UPMC Bon Secours, Beacon Hospital, University Hospital Galway (UHG) radiation oncology, Cork University Hospital (CUH) radiation oncology and Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

Professor Sinead Brennan (TCD) is a radiation oncologist at St James’s Hospital, and the St Luke’s Radiation Oncology network in Dublin. She is a Board member of the Irish Cancer Society, and chair of the Head & Neck DSSG in Cancer Trials Ireland.

Prof Roisin Connolly

GROUP LEAD: Cork University Hospital (CUH), Bon Secours Hospital, Cork, University Hospital Waterford (UHW) and University College Cork (UCC)

Professor Roisin Connolly is Director of Cancer Research at University College Cork, and a Medical Oncologist at Cork University Hospital

Prof Michaela Higgins

GROUP LEAD: St Vincent’s University Hospital (SVUH), Mater Misericordiae University Hospital (MMUH) and University College Dublin (UCD)

Professor Michaela Higgins is the President of the Irish Society for Medical Oncology, a clinical professor in UCD and a medical oncologist at St Vincent’s Hospital

Dr Janusz Krawczyk

GALWAY representative: Saolta Hospital Group (University Hospital Galway (UHG), Letterkenny University Hospital (LUH), Sligo University Hospital (SUH)

Dr. Janusz Krawczyk is a Haematologist in Galway University Hospital and Senior Lecturer in Haematology at National University of Ireland – Galway

Prof Maeve Lowery

GROUP LEAD: Tallaght University Hospital (TUH), St James’s Hospital (SJH), Midlands Regional Hospital, Tullamore (MRHT) and Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

Professor Maeve Lowery is Professor of Translational Cancer Medicine at Trinity College Dublin and Medical Oncologist at St James’s Hospital. 

Prof Patrick Morris

GROUP LEAD: Beaumont Hospital (BH), Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital Drogheda (OLLHD), Connolly Hospital and Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland (RCSI)

Patrick Morris is Medical Director of the Cancer Clinical Trials and Research Unit, RCSI Hospital Group and a Medical Oncologist at Beaumont Hospital, Bon Sercours Glasnevin and Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital in Drogheda

Dr Hilary O'Leary

LIMERICK representative: University Hospital Limerick (UHL)

Dr Hilary O’Leary is a haematologist in University Hospital Limerick since 2009. She is currently clinical lead for the haematology service at University Hospital Limerick, and she represents the Department of Medicine on the Cancer Strategy Group at University of Limerick Hospitals.